snapshots
Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003 || Never a dull moment...

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

I have a tart burner.

I love it. It was a Christmas gift, and burning Yankee tarts elicits the most wonderful smell. Last night, the scent-o-the-eve was hazelnut coffee (which also happens to be my latest hot-beverage addiction).

I was working on a r�sum� and Kaytlin was entertaining our friends� 22 month old. �Sloop!� went the sound of Parker�s gack-splat ball as it hit the ceiling, dangling precariously. These little suckers are sort of sticky and temporarily adhere themselves to whatever surface you womp them against. �Floomp!�, went the source of Ashley�s glee as it hit the floor.

�Sloop...floomp...giggle-squeal...�

�Sloop...floomp...giggle-squeal...�

�THWACK!�

It took me a second to realize that I had been sprayed with hot wax. Me, the back of my laptop, the table, the wall, the piano, Ashley�s diaper bag...

A tart�s worth of hazelnut-waxy joy, all over the place, Parker�s sticky toy landing rather impolitely and smack dab in the center of said tart burner.

To say I was a bit miffed would be not only true, but a slight understatement.

I have learned two things from this little mishap. Number one: Pampered Chef stoneware scrapers peal wax off of walls, tables, pianos, and computers rather well.

Number two: Hot wax applied to the back end of a cat makes for happy little waxy tufts of hair scattered about the house for an undetermined amount of time.

Anybody know how to remove wax from cat fur?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Conversation over lunch between an almost-five year old and his mom.

Totally out of the blue: �Mom, little Joey�s mom has a big hiney.�

�Parker, that isn�t a nice thing to say.�

�Well, she does!�

�Parker, that would make her sad if she heard you say that.�

Slight pause.

�I don�t know how many pounds it is.�

�Parker, let�s not talk about that.�

Another pause.

�It�s only like (arms outstretched as wide as possible for emphasis) this big!�

What am I going to do when this kid starts kindergarten? (Janie, I think I may just have the male version of Sophie!)





~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits