snapshots
Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003 || Would you be mine; could you be mine...

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

It is sad, but true. An American childhood icon passed away today.

Mr. Rogers has a new neighborhood.

When I read the news this morning, I had that sort of twang one gets when recalling a fond but funny memory. I mean, I really do think it is sad, and my condolences go out to his family. He was a good man with a huge heart who touched many lives all the years he opened that door and stepped into our living rooms.

But I also couldn�t help but remember how much I hated that show when I was a kid.

Have I mentioned that I have issues?

Anyhow...

My sister, however, loved the guy.

It was a thorn in my flesh to be subjected to �It�s a beautiful day in the neighborhood� each morning. And who has a train that runs through their house anyway? And some of those puppets were just plain creepy if you ask me.

But much to my chagrin, Mr. Roger�s was Marlen�s first crush. Personally, I had it for the Million Dollar Man. All strength and bravado and power! For Janie, it was Mighty Mouse. A rodent, yes, but he was still a superhero.

But not Marlen. For her it was the guy in the cardigan. The one who always made sure the fish were fed, sang to her, and knew how to put his stuff away when he was done with it.

I can remember begging my mom to make her turn it off. She never did. Now that I think about it, maybe she had a crush on him too.

Marlen and I giggled about it on the phone this morning. �He was your hero, wasn�t he?� I said. She laughed and agreed.

So, here�s to you, Mr. Rogers. You brought some joy to at least two more households today.

Enjoy the new view!



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits