snapshots
Monday, Feb. 09, 2004 || New job

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

When I woke up this morning, I realized that I didn't really have peace about the position I was offered on Friday. I was nervous about asking for more $$, but knew I needed to, and based on a lot of input, I had realized that my skills are worth more than their offer.

So, Rob encouraged me to go into the temp agency that called on Friday and still get registered (had an appointment at 11:30 today). I also heard from the pastor of the church I was in contact with this morning, and he let me know that the personnel committee would be discussing their needs and my resume today.

Sooooooo, I have to admit, I didn't really want to go to the temp agency. But, I thought it was worth a go at it, to at least get registered and see what's what. I was very open about that in the interview too. I told them my salary requirements, my commitment to my family, my uncertainty as to whether I wanted to be full or part time. I went in there with the expectation to get put on a list and perhaps, perhaps score a good job in a few weeks or months.

And, the guy wouldn't let me get registered!

Because he offered me a position there.

I will be training to be a "customer service manager". I will handle clients (employers) and temps (including interviews, reviewing resumes, calling on jobs, etc.). I will actually take over for the CSM going on maternity leave in May, but they want me to start this or next week so she can get me up to snuff on everything (150 temps and 40-50 clients). The owner (who just happened to be the one I interviewed with, though I didn't know it at that time) feels that I will move into a permanent position even after her return because of their current growth.

I will have a two week training/trial period and then if all goes well, they will give me $1 more an hour and then a 90-day review. If that goes well, I will begin to earn profit-sharing/commission. No health benefits (but we have a self-paid policy right now anyway that we will just keep), but some paid holidays, a few sick and personal days, and the standard week of vacation after a year, 2 after 2 years.

I am pumped. This is actually just a branching out of what I have been doing for 8 years with my resume service.

And I have two weeks to see if I will really be a fit there. No pressure. I like that!

I finally did talk to the manager at the other company this afternoon and told her that while I thought it was a great company and I really would like to work with her, I had some other offers on the table for more money, and given the costs of childcare and healthcare, their offer was (frankly) not enough. She said she totally understood, thanks, and good luck!

So much for bargaining room.

But I have a good feeling about this place. It is a small operation, just 3-5 people. It will be challenging and busy, yet rewarding. And, when I went to the corportate website (this is a franchised temp agency), it says under CSMs requirements: Bachelor's degree.

I don't have one.

That is quite a boost.

I find out tomorrow when I will actually start training. Could be as early as Wednesday.

This will be a big change for me...



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits