snapshots
Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2006 || Man, I need a hobby

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Valentine's Day was rather uneventful here. We actually "celebrated" on Saturday afternoon, just as the first flakes of the deluge began. A H1bachi chain in the area has been running these BOGO coupons for Friday and Saturday afternoons, so we went there, scoring steak, shrimp, and chicken and dropping a nice tip for $20 total (yeah, we cheaped out and got ice water, but to our defense, the water there is really tasty AND water is good for you, so it's the perfect choice!).

I made Rob a list of 20 things I love about him - one for each Valentine's Day and "2 for good measure" and left it in an envelope on his computer. He left me a little card - not a V-Day one, but a cute one nonetheless.

I also sent him this e-card, which totally cracked me up (have the sound on if you check it out). The kids and I laughed and laughed over that one.

I made a kickin' steak and mashed taters dinner, if I do say so myself. One thing I do like about a gas stove is the broiler. It does steak good.

I hate to admit that I was a bit disappointed in the day, though. Even though Rob and I had agreed to celebrate early because we had that great coupon and he hates the V-Day evening crowds, and even though he left me that cute little card, I was disappointed that he came home empty-handed. And I hate that about myself! I wasn't looking for anything big, just something that said he'd been thinking about me. I know, I know, one shouldn't need a Hallm@rk holiday to show a little romance or give a little gift, but he can be so good at surprising me - maybe that's just it. If he had brought something home, it really wouldn't have been a surprise.

Ah, well, he did put up with me mulling over cereal at the grocery store last night after we picked up the daughter's birthday gift. And yes, even though I had about 6 or 7 unopened boxes already, I bought 3 more. You know, when I get under 10, I start getting this tic...

Just kidding.

I also bought some lunch supplies for Friday, when my madre and sister come up to see the house. Well, madre has seen it, but Mar hasn't. I am going for something filling, yet low fat since I have been food journaling again. I hate the word diet, so I am not going to say that is what I am doing. I am also still within my healthy weight range, so another reason not to use that word. BUT, I have several bottom-half things that are either very snug or no longer fit, so I've been hitting the 'mill, lifting some weights, and doing various light aerobic stretches, while logging what I eat and trying to stay under what I should consume in a day.

I lost 2 lbs early on last week, but nothing since then. I am really trying not to look at the weight, but I have to log it for my journal program. But as soon as my stuff fits again, I will stop weighing myself. I don't want to get as low as I was a few years ago - I look back at pictures and think, "Whoa, what was I thinking?" Now I understand why some folks were concerned.

I am small-boned, so I do need to be on the lower end of the healthy range, but I do not need to get below it.

So, there's that. My current obsessions haven't changed much, have they? Cereal and weight.

Man, I need a hobby.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits