snapshots
Sunday, May. 23, 2004 || Taking my life back

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

So, do you think my last entry showed a bit of anger?

Heh.

Yeah, I do feel slighted. I have worked really hard, and I know I have done a good job. The other members of the staff have told me that I caught on quickly. I know I am a valuable part of the team.

But I am not valuable enough for BossMan to equate value as one in the work place does: with cold hard cash.

So be it! I am excited about being home and getting back to work on the house. Painting and organizing. Greeting my kiddos when they come in the door.

I have to give the daycare 2 weeks notice, so I already know what I will do should BossMan say I can just leave after he receives my letter. You see, if I quit, I can not collect unemployment. Which is totally fine. But I do need to work those two weeks to finish out my daycare responsibilities. So, if he asks me to leave, I will sweetly let him know that by doing so he is terminating me. A termination makes me eligible for unemployment. And in that case I will file.

I have learned enough to know that BossMan goes to great lengths to avoid paying unemployment. So, I don't really think he will go there by releasing me early. Not to mention that Wednesday and Thursday are Jewish holidays and he and the sales rep won't even be in.

Kind of hard to leave the office in the hands of just the admin for two days.

Everyone I have talked to has told me I am doing the right thing. Some have even said that even if he does offer me more money when he receives my resignation, that I should decline because there could be contention in the office.

I have also thought of the fact that should he do that, it shows he doesn't really value me - he would only be doing it to save his own butt and protect his business.

So are the ways of the business world, I know. And for $4 more an hour I may consider it!

But the more I think about it, the more I just want to be home. It is not about the money. Each Monday for the past 4 weeks I have prayed for God to give me the strength to get through another week. I have been counting down the days to my original planned date of resignation.

And I will never regain these days in my children's lives. K@ytlin already thinks I have no time for her. And in a way she is right - I am so mentally exhausted by the time I get home, I have little to give to anyone.

I plan to register as a substitute next school year, so I will do something part time. At this point in our lives, I think that is best. So what if it means less dinners out. Less "toys".

What price can one put on having the energy to ride bikes with my son? Read to the little guy? Have a girlie-girl chat with my almost-teenager?

I am taking my life back, and it feels good.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits