snapshots
Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2005 || "Day One" down

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Day one down. Not bad, overall. Wrote my first two referrals for an almost-fight that broke out in second bell. And we're in Health this week.

Don't even want to think about what those children would have been like in actual PE today.

Gave out notes and worksheets on HIV/AIDS. The babies (i.e., 6th graders) were much bolder with the questions.

"Can you get AIDS from same-sex sex?"

"Can you get HIV if you are on the pill?"

"Can you get AIDS from oral sex?"

One girl asked if I was embarrassed to be talking about "this stuff". Honestly, I wasn't. Is it an easy topic? No. But, I told her that if it kept just one of them from making a huge, life-altering mistake, my potential discomfort was worth it.

I have a reprieve tomorrow for the "sex-separated" lesson, and possibly for the whole week since I am not "certified". One of the other female teachers will take my girls and I will take her classes.

I guess I shouldn't be surprised that so many of these kids just don't know anything. Many of them didn't know what "semen" or "abstinence" mean.

No wonder one of our eighth graders is pregnant by another eighth grader.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits