snapshots
Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004 || Contentment no matter what the circumstances...yikes!!

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Today is gearing up to be a major clean-the-house day, since Rob, along with his mama, fly in tomorrow morning. I've already had my quiet time and put a load of bedding in the washer. This is definitely going to need to be a multi-tasking type of day.

I watched a classic last night as I folded laundry and emptied four boxes in the family room (yes, I am still unpacking *blush*). Nathan stayed up with me and watched it too - Gone with the Wind. It was adorable to hear him mention the "computer-generated rainbow" and then see the look on his face when I told him not only was that not computer generated, but that the movie was made well before even his grandparents were born!

I am feeling tons better today - the funk has been replaced with an acceptance and calm. I am still reeling a bit from Abba Father's most recent lesson - only because it is a toughie - contentment despite my circumstances. I have to be honest - that is kind of tough when your hubby is out of town for work most of every month!

Once I started to swallow that I need to be content in this waiting time, I jotted down a few things in my prayer journal.

What do I know?

1. God has called Rob - and me - to full-time ministry.

2. Rob is wired in specific ways that make him more detail-oriented and outreach focused.

3. God brought us here for a reason, even if we don't know yet the full extent of that.

What don't I know?

1. When Rob will be able to return to a pastorate.

2. Where!

What I know God has said.

1. "...those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles." (Is. 40:31) (Hope in that verse means "wait expectantly".)

2. God created us with an overwhelming desire to soar. Our desire to develop and use every ounce of potential He's placed in us is not egotistical.

3. Our desire to be in full-time ministry again is God-given!

4. If I choose a ruling passion of contentment (in my current circumstance), I can choose the action of waiting with my eyes open (expectant, looking for open doors, ready for His plan for us!).

5. "You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of Your presence and the pleasures of living with You forever." (Ps. 16:11)

Perhaps all of that seems overly simplistic and naive. Silly, even. And I guess, in a sense, I am a simple girl with a simple faith.

One thing is for certain, it is definitely not easy, being content in our current circumstance. But if there is one thing in these past few months that I have learned, it is that I have to trust what God says to me. He's been saying wait; now He is saying "wait, and be content where you are right now".

Wait expectantly. Contently, but with confidence.

For I know the plans I have for you," says the LORD. "They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope."



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits