snapshots
Thursday, Dec. 22, 2005 || Why should they care?

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

My mother has called me no less than two dozen times to ask if what she is purchasing for Christmas gifts for my family is the "right" thing. Every time I tell her, "Mom, I am sure it will be fine. Keep the receipts. If they don't like it, it can be returned."

Last night I was, yet again, telling Rob that she'd called, yet again, to ask the same questions. (And of course, she seems to call when I can't answer the phone and I get a voicemail saying, "It's your mother....where are you....I really need to talk to you" as if something is really wrong, but that's another story, eh dear sisters?) I was a bit exasperated at this point, to say the least.

"She's obviously seeking your approval," Rob replied, matter-of-factly.

What?! Whose the parent in this relationship anyway? Why in creation would she be seeking my approval?

I just don't get it, but this isn't the first time that someone has told me that she, and other family members, find it important that I approve of what they say or do or buy.

Who am I that they would feel this way? Or what do I do/have I done that anyone would try so hard to make sure I am not offended or that I approve of them and the things they do?

Especially my mother.

I just don't get it.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits