snapshots
Friday, Aug. 15, 2003 || It's gotta be the PMS

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Just as I can hardly resist a sale on cereal, coupled with a coupon�

(which, by the way, I have withstood the urge to buy more to add to the 23 boxes currently in the house, though Target has it on sale for a mere $1.79. Be strong, Nicole. Be strong�)

�I can hardly pass up an article of clothing on the clearance rack for under $5.00. And so it was at Wal-mart a few days ago with Kaytlin that I found this little gem:

I am not sure what I like more: what it says or the fact that I actually look like I have a chest when I wear it. Actually, now that I look a bit closer, I am looking kinda lopsided there...it's gotta be the angle. Drats that Rob for not pointing the camera in the right place!

Oh, and I was deemed cool by the daughter. I have been informed that the in-style shirts actually say something on them.

So, go me.

But, what does it mean for a Psych Major to wear a shirt like this�?

Moving right along�

I have deemed yesterday last-day-of-freedom day. Rob takes Thursdays off. Well, he has the day-time hours off; we have our weekly church prayer meeting in the evening. An-y-way, we decided we would get out of this house yesterday since next week all h-e-double-toothpicks may very well break loose as this chick becomes a student again.

We first headed to Costco to get him a new cell phone. Yes, he is now cool like me with a bodacious flip phone. (Uh, yeah, we are all about the coolness.) The kids started the we-are-dying-of-starvation chant and dance, so we grabbed lunch there. Another of my addictions: Costco�s cinnamon pretzels. Hoo-boy, I don�t even want to know how many calories are in one of those butter drenched puppies.

Bellies full and kids whining, �where are we going now-ow?�, we headed to a mini golf place. I learned a few things while playing.

1. Try to pick a mini-golf course that is shaded if you are going to play mini-golf at 2 PM in Missouri in mid-August.

2. There is a cool little line on the putter that you are supposed to use to line up the putter, ball, and the little hole-in-one thingy. I know, I know, no need to thank me for that all important public service announcement.

3. God allows me to lose most, if not all, of the games I play against Rob because I am a much better loser.

Two words. Strip Speed.

This morning, I managed to drag my hiney out of bed early enough to go on a run. I have a little routine on days such as this. I make myself a cup of coffee, check my e-mail, have my quiet time, and then get my running gear together.

Just before leaving, I plopped back down for a second in front of the computer.

�BANG!�

I came up out of my seat, quickly scanning the room and back yard to see what hit the house, who had a gun, what exploded�

A dark, bubbly fluid was quickly materializing next to the fridge. No, it wasn�t fireworks, or another car hitting the neighbor�s fence (again), or a sniper with a high powered rifle (okay, okay, so we watched Phone Booth last night, cut me some slack!).

It was a stinkin� soda can! Still in the box with 3 or 4 other cans on top of it. Of course, it couldn�t be easy to get to. Oh, no, not for me.

About a dozen paper towels and a hasty wet-mop later, I was out the door and to the track, only to once again feel like my lungs would burst after a measly 2-mile run. Oh, endurance, my endurance where did you go?!

Man, is this entry about randomness or what? It's gotta be the PMS.

I made a new discovery today! Raspberry Milano cookies. Can we say oh l� l�? (Oh, hush, I am getting geared up for my fran�ais class on Monday.)

We rented a slew of movies yesterday, the kids each picking out one and then the one for us. When they were choosing the flicks, Rob told the progeny, �I will rent each of you a movie, but you each need to watch all of the movies, together.�

Oh, yeah, forced sibling quality time. What good is it to be a parent if you can�t randomly torture your children?

Actually, the movies they picked were great for their wide range of interests. Except for one.

Kaytlin paid for an extra movie herself, What a Girl Wants. By this afternoon, the other three had been viewed and Kaytlin popped in her chick flick. Parker came upstairs, sort of dragging his feet, his shoulders drooping.

�What�s wrong, buddy?�

�Do I have to watch that movie?�

I gave the little guy a reprieve and told him he could play on the computer. He ran down the stairs with glee, exclaiming, �Boo-Ya! I don�t have to watch that movie!!�

I just love that kid!

~ ~ ~

If you are reading this and it is Saturday, Aug. 16th, it's not only the anniversary of "the king's" passing; it's Marlen's birthday - go and leave her some b-day love!



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits