snapshots
Thursday, Nov. 14, 2002 || Our Backyard a.ka. Wild Kingdom

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

We have lived in this house just over three years now. We live on an extremely busy 2-lane street that they plan to expand to three in the next two years. We are surrounded by various subdivisions and less than 2 minutes drive from a flourishing strip mall and several restaurants and gas stations.

Despite being smack-dab in the middle of suburbia, to the left of our home is a small wooded area surrounding a creek bed. Directly behind our house is an open field owned by our subdivision. And directly in front of our house is another open lot with trees bordering 2 sides.

Hence we have viewed a variety of wildlife in and around our backyard. Rabbits, tons of birds, 'possums, a very large ground hog, a racoon, and of course squirrels, (and rather tenacious ones at that).

After today, I think I have seen about everything I could have possibly thought might reside in and around that creek. I was talking on the phone with a friend, when something coming across the field at a trot caught my eye.

"Oh my goodness! What is that!" I blurted. A canine-type creature was sauntering toward our fence. My first thought was: coyote. Then I thought better of that. What in the world would a coyote be doing sitting next to my backyard, sniffing the air and sunning himself?

Second thought: fox. But he seemed a bit large for a fox and too brown. Of course, I am such a city girl, I just wasn't quite sure. The wildest thing I ever saw in our neighborhood growing up was my friend, Valerie.

I had Rob come and assess the situation. "Looks like a coyote or a wolf to me." Great. "Call animal control," he replied and went back to work in his office.

Animal Control directed me to the Conservation Department (you learn something new everyday - animal control doesn't handle wild animals...shouldn't it be called "not-all-animals control"?). When I got through to the Conservation Department, I was informed that coyotes are indigenous to the area and unless it displayed abnormal behavior, not to worry about it.

A question: what would constitute abnormal coyote behavior?

I guess if it starts knocking on the back door with the squirrel, I should make some calls.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits