snapshots
Monday, Aug. 01, 2005 || Monday Soul-baring

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

On a email list I am on, we have been talking about weird food combinations that we like. This has morphed into just plain weird foods - or foods that some may find weird but we like. Often these are regional specialties, along the lines of boiled okra or chittlins.

Marylanders are known for some crazy combinations/tastes. I mean, c'mon, the state braggin' food is a bottom feeder. But pick one of those suckers apart, toss in some mayo, Old Bay and other seasoning goodies, pat it into a patty, and broil that baby, and I am SO there - crab cakes are HEA-VEN-LY in my humble yet accurate opinion.

But there is a regional delicacy that I love that I fear is more of a confession than proclamation.

Scrapple.

Oh, yes. I. Like. Scrapple. If I had to choose just one breakfast-y type meat, that would be it.

I read this online today: "My wife and I have a theory that the only way you can eat SCRAPPLE is to have done so as an unsuspecting child so that you acquire a taste for it before you truly understand it's components. Otherwise you'd just throw up."

And perhaps they are right. I don't remember finding out what was in it until I was a teen or adult. And by then, well...did I mention that I really like the stuff?

Okay, that's enough soul-baring for a Monday, I think.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits