snapshots
Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005 || Who will join me?

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Some folks believe that we were created exactly as the Genesis account indicates. Some don't believe in a Diety's involvement in the world and universe's being at all. And then there are some folks who believe in God creating through evolution.

So, in two of these three stories, there is still the belief that God created. The God was "in the beginning".

So, let me explore some thoughts for a moment. Let's just say that we agree that God created the universe, world, and everything in it, including humankind (whether you believe it happened in 7 days or over millions of years). In the Genesis 2 account of this we see man, in the garden. God walks with him in the coolness of the day, in that paradise. And yet, man feels incomplete.

Why would God create man with a need that isn't fulfilled in Him?

Hmmmmmm....

Think of it (I wish I could claim to have come up with this on my own, but it is too good not to share no matter how I came to this revelation). He created us to need each other. Not to be isolated. Not to only know Him.

We were created to be interconnected.

I think many Christians forget this part. That we need each other. Sometimes, much to our shame, I see "non-Christians" (for lack of a better word) relating better to others than Christians do.

We are supposed to be developing a community of faith - and when I say that, I don't just mean a group of folks who believe all the same things about every little minute detail.

That's just scary (I've been there and it is imprisoning).

I think He wants us to create a community of faith that loves one another, that serves one another, and - and some more "conservative" folk may roast me for this one - embraces differences.

Of course, there are some "differences" that we can't abide by if they are harmful or sinful and all that. That's kind of understood. But there is a verse in Proverbs that says iron sharpens iron, and I think that means that we should discuss and debate and listen and consider and not criticize in demeaning, I-know-it-all ways.

I used to be one of those "this is what I believe and you won't change my mind" argumentative types. I shudder at some of the things I used to say.

But now I am in a place where I want to hear the other side. Where I want to be challenged in my faith. I want to be a Truth seeker without preconceived ideas as much as possible.

The best way to do that is in the company of other sojourners. To allow ourselves to first admit that we need each other and then start walking the path together.

It's scary at time. At times I feel threatened; I feel like folks won't understand. It is a risk to even try to put voice to some of the restructuring of my always-held beliefs. It can be misunderstood as turning my back on truth.

The fact is, I want to know what Truth really is without all the cultural and sociological encroachments we have placed upon it.

It's a journey that is full of brambles and dark corners and scary ridges.

But it also has some of the most breathtaking landscape I have ever witnessed.

Who will join me?



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits