snapshots
Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2003 || Serve it with what?

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

I am doing my darndest to avoid buying any more groceries before we move. We have about 2.5 weeks left here and I still have quite a bit in the freezer. But alas, the kiddos need milk on a regular basis. Though I could probably deprive Kaytlin for a while since at 11 she is over 5 feet tall and wears a woman�s size 8 shoe, but I digress.

After my lab class yesterday I stopped at Costco. I was there for some basics, milk and bread. I am also smart enough to know that they are still serving samples about this time and I was fairly famished. I happened over by the fresh pastas and sauces to find a sampling of Carbonara sauce on a crusty wheat bread.

Now, I am a fairly down-to-earth girl in many respects, but I do love complex foods. Actually, I love just about any food, but I really enjoy trying something new and "fancy", something I wouldn't normally buy. Something rich and decadent. Hence the debacle of my thighs and butt about 2 years ago leading to the Search for the Perfect Butt. Since I have managed to keep the weight off for a year now, I have allowed my eating habits to slip back to more complicated foods (translation: more fat and calories).

So, there I was in the warehouse club, tasting a bit of Carbonara sauce on a chunk of fresh bread. �You get two 20 oz. containers for just $1.97, because it is close to the sell-by date. You can freeze them. They are usually $9.00,� touted the savvy sampler.

Oh, man, she didn�t just peddle me yummy clearance food, did she? Doesn�t this woman know I can�t pass up something so yummy at so low a price?

�Well, I am moving in a few weeks, so��

�For $1.97, even if you don�t use them both, you can�t go wrong. They are normally $9.00!�

I never had a chance.

This stuff is yummy and just the type of meal for a cold December dinner. Served over pasta with crusty French bread� I couldn�t go wrong, now could I?

Oh, but you haven�t met my husband and children. Their idea of gourmet is Kraft macaroni and cheese.

I was confident Nathan would like it. He loves Alfredo. For those who haven�t had Carbonara, it is a white wine sauce made with heavy cream, parmesan cheese, and bacon.

�I don�t like bacon,� he muttered. �Can�t I just have buttered noodles?�

Kaytlin declared it �okay�. She then went on to say it smelled like green beans (what!?) and tasted like onions (o-kay�).

Parker seemed to actually like it, but his tastes favor mine more than any of them, so that wasn�t a big surprise. Must be in the name, huh girls?

Rob ate a bit later than us because of a phone call. I had been dozing on the couch when I heard him loading dishes into the dishwasher.

�So, what�d you think?�

�It was good.�

�Really? The kids didn�t care for it too much.�

�It was good. I think in the future it would be better as a side dish.�

�You think so?�

�Yeah, like with some fried chicken.�

Hello? Did he just suggest that a big fat juicy fried chicken leg should accompany my gourmet pasta meal?

�Fried chicken? This is a gourmet dish, honey.�

�Gourmet? Who cares. I still think it needs to go along with something.�

�Like fried chicken?�

�Yeah. Fried chicken.�

I think I�ll serve that the next time Ellie May and Jethro head over for supp-ah.

Y�all come back now, ya hear?



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits