snapshots
Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 || Administrative hineys and slushy skies

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Six's entry today reminded me that I got quite tickled the other day over the job openings' report that listed one assignment as an "administrative ass" because the spreadsheet cut the description off.

And judging from some of the folks we get in the office everyday, that, unfortunately isn't too far from the truth.

Today, however, I found out that a client whose resume I received was hired by a company we work with. I received her resume, reviewed it, set an appointment, interviewed her, and then put her on testing. I noticed that her experience might be a fit for a position we were trying to fill.

Come to think of it, it may have been the above mentioned faux-pas, but anyway...

I mentioned that to Sass and BossMan, and he sent her resume right over to the client. They called the next day, she interviewed with them this afternoon, and voila! A happy client, a happy associate, and a happy staffing office.

If only it was always that pretty.

Case in point. Yesterday an associate called; she and her husband are registered with us. She wanted to know where he was working the previous night because he wasn't yet home.

"I can not give that information out to you over the phone, even if you are his spouse, because of confidentiality laws."

The woman would not take no for an answer. She pulled the I-think-he-might-be-a-missing-person card. I informed her that if she was that concerned, she should call the police.

She wouldn't let it rest, so I pawned her off on Sass, who told her the same things I had.

Later we got a call from a police officer, to whom we did give some information.

Something about the whole situation just seemed off to me. I just had this feeling that there was more to her story, that she was playing us somehow.

Today we learned through the grapevine that they are having marital issues. I thought as much. Oh, the drama of it all!

We are steering clear of that one, that's for certain. Don't ask, don't tell, I suppose.

Enough work talk...anyone else watching American Idol? Not sure who my favorite is yet. There are some good 'uns, that's for sure. This is the first season I have actually watched most of the shows (I know, I know, what rock have I been living under, huh?).

A lovely nor'easter blew in from the coast today. It was actually raining slush. Like God was sprinkling some giant icee all over the VA coast.

Treadmill time has trickled down to nada. I feel all guilty and such, but I am having such a hard time carving that time into my day. Maybe it will be easier when the weather is nice enough for outdoor excursions.

Oh, I had my first crying associate on the phone today. It would seem we have a hormonal supervisor at one of the companies. She had a bit of a fit today and canned a new gal. New gal called crying saying that she asked a question and was told "Don't worry about it. Just go home and don't come back." New gal sounded really sincere and I felt so bad for her. She kept saying, "I don't know what happened. I didn't do anything wrong."

BossMan will give the sup a call tomorrow. Perhaps he will see if she is available for that administrative ass position...



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits