snapshots
Saturday, May. 27, 2006 || Not bad. Not bad at all.

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

I am going to go on the Tex@s Roadhouse/Friend1y's ice cream cake diet.

I was down a pound this morning!

Really, though, how does that make sense? While I still watched what I ate, I consumed about 200-300 more calories than I have been, and I walked less than two miles yesterday.

And I lost a pound.

Weird.

~ ~ ~

I've said this before, but birthdays when you are a grown-up, for the most part, are rather anticlimactic. Not bad, just...there.

I mean, really, how much of a difference is there between 35 and 36? I don't feel any different. I actually look a bit better since I've lost 13 lbs in the past 6 weeks. So, really, the change of those digits is not that big of a deal, right?

But I think there is something in all of us that wants some recognition from our loved ones that this day of our advent is more than just another day.

The kids were pretty cool to me, overall. I took them to Paner@ and we had bagels and coffee, and they gave me a running watch and some black flipflops. They were so excited.

Parker later tried to give me all of his spending money, wrapped in a little peice of paper. This kid's love language is so gifts. I couldn't take it from him - how can I take money from my 8-year-old? But later I started to feel bad because that is my love language too, and if I gave something to someone and they just gave it back, I would feel awful.

So, Rob took him out to pick out an ice cream cake for me after we got back from dinner, and he bought me a candy bar with his own money.

So cute.

My only real complaint of the day is that we called ahead to TX Roadhouse, they told us an hour, then we still had to wait almost a half hour to be seated. Our waiter made up for it, but still. That is just ridiculous - what's the point of calling ahead?

Oh, and one more...not really complaint, but, let me just say that I have no idea why Wedding Crashers did so well in theaters. I thought it was assanine. No offense to anyone who liked/loved it, but I thought it was pretty lame.

Rob gave me John St0ssels' new book - it is totally cool. Even the kids have been reading it.

He actually gave me my *real* present weeks ago - he put the money aside to get my front teeth crowned and some others bleached. I have two broken teeth that are bonded - and the bonding has needed replacing for some time. But I am waiting to see if he gets offered a permanent position next week because then the cost will be cut in half with the company's dental plan.

So, should I get to keep the difference if so?

Maybe I should just tell him to put it in our "Cruise for our 20th" fund.

So, all in all, not a bad day. A year older; a pound lighter. Leftover ice cream cake in the freezer. Lunch at our favorite Japanese restaurant to look forward to this afternoon.

Not bad. Not bad at all.



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits