snapshots
Thursday, Mar. 21, 2002 || Chip conspiracy

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Last week, the hubby, youngest, and I went to Sam's to grab some stuff for the homestead. Of course, we usually only go for one or two things, but always leave with a bunch more. As we were perusing the snack area, I spied them! I couldn't believe it. I think I even rubbed my eyes and blinked a few times to make sure I wasn't hallucinating.

Utz Potato Chips. A huge display full of bag upon bag of them!

OK, so some of you are probably thinking, "what's the big deal over some lousy potato chips?"

Well, these are not just any potato chips! These are the very potato chips I was raised on. An east coast delicacy that have never been seen this side of the midwest, unless my darling mother comes for a visit with a stash in her suitcase.

And like any good, former east coast resident, I grabbed a bag. And I have to admit, I was practically giddy! I told everyone about my super find. No one out here understood of course, but I just knew God was smiling down on me.

OK, so maybe I am a little dramatic over some thinly sliced, fried, and salted potato treats.

Fast forward to Tuesday night. As mentioned in a previous entry, the hubby and I made a trek to Sam's. Again, I only had 2 things on my list, but as soon as I got into the warehouse, my brain suddenly went into "oh-yeah-we-need-this-and-that-too" mode. And once again we made our way over to the snack area.

"OH - Utz chips, we are almost out!" I exclaimed to the hubby. Now, he loves Utz too; even if he didn't grow up on the east coast, he has developed a taste for these delectable little goodies as well. To save time we went in different directions, each canvassing an aisle in search of a little happiness in a bag.

Oh, the humanity!!!

Yup, you guessed it.

NO UTZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I couldn't believe it! How could Sam's do this to a girl? Get my hopes up that I could find a little taste of my MD roots in every trip to the warehouse club only to have them dashed like dry autumn leaves in a winter wind.

OK, OK, so I am being a little melodramatic here. But you know, this gal takes her snack food very seriously. And the weird part is that I am generally not a big potato chip eater. I am usually more of a pretzel girl.

So, my faith in Sam's has crushed. I just can't believe THAT many bags of chips could have been sold in a week's time to a bunch of midwesterners who just couldn't really know how wonderful they are.

Sounds like a chip conspiracy to me...



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits