snapshots
Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2002 || What the Shepherd Does...

Nicole feels The current mood of nacwolin at www.imood.com

Experts from today's devotion in
Experiencing God Day-by-Day

Even when I walk through the dark valley of death, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me. ~Psalm 23:4

"As a child of God you are never alone! Your Shepherd is with you at all times. You never have to call Him into your situation.... He does not necessarily lead you around the valley as you might wish. There are times when your Shepherd knows that the only way to get you where He wants to take you is to lead you down the path that passes through the dark valley.... It is during those times that you experience His love and compassion in a deeper dimension than you even have before.... Evil never catches Him by surprise. Your shepherd is always prepared and knows exactly when and where you will experience difficulty."

This is such an amazing truth. First of all, that if I am a child of God, meaning that I have a personal relationship with Him, not just knowledge of His existence, but a real, intimate relationship with the very One who created me, He promises to protect me. Not to always keep me from pain, but to walk with me, to comfort me, to guide me through it.

Secondly, it is hard sometimes when we are in the midst of trials to believe that He is really there. But He is there, and He feels our pain acutely. And sometimes He allows the pain to draw us closer to Him, or to help us grow, or to help us learn to trust Him, or even to bring someone else to Him through us.

Job said, "Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him!" Can I say that without reservation as well?



~ ~ ~

test - Saturday, Oct. 01, 2016
Just a reminder - Friday, Aug. 10, 2007
Rockin' Girl Blogger - Wednesday, Jul. 18, 2007
A good end - Friday, Jun. 01, 2007
Moving on? Yes and no. - Monday, May. 07, 2007

All entries (c) Nacwolin 2001-2006. These are my words. Use your own, m'kay?

journal

bio

contact

extra

credits